Poor and up against a culture of mistrust

Pacing around the women’s department at Target, my younger daughter playfully hiding in the racks of clothes, I tried to stay calm while holding in the tears. I was on the phone with a Department of Health and Human Services employee.

One of the upsides of being part of the “liberal elite” is that I’ve spent my life being treated with what may be an atypical level of kindness and respect. There have been times when people have been rude, abrasive or flat-out mean, but in most of those situations there were personal relationships involved. When I am trying to get something accomplished with employees of retail or service companies, or governmental agencies, I almost always find it easy to get along. (read more here)

Leave a Reply

